Don’t Just Sit….Get Out To NeuroPhysio – (the progress it does become visible) ❤️

So I want to tell you something about what happens to the body after suffering a stroke or because  of some kind of neurological disorder. Our muscles become stiff because of the neural paths being damaged or blocked.  Learning or may I say relearning/retraining the brain and body to connect has been both physically and mentally draining to say the least. But I also know, that regular daily simple exercises can help alleviate the stiffness and can slowly retrigger the brains neural paths . Regularity is key and so is making exercises a part of your daily routine.


When my physical therapy was approved, I was ready ready, oh so ready to begin the steps to again be active. I believe that sitting is the new smoking – WHY?  Well, I know for myself , that sitting for extended periods is particularly detrimental to my physical and mental health. But I also know, that it is very often difficult for us, the people who have neurological disabilities to move around easily and standing up and walking may not always be the answer – similar to a smoker being told to give up, I would imagine!
Let me tell you, it is so difficult to go from being active to inactive. After the paralysis to one side of my body, and other bodily breakdowns, it was so much easier to  sit for longer times. But I realise that’s not necessarily correct as it turns out,  with regular daily practice it becomes easier to get up if you start slowly waking the body up a bit first.  Initially, I wondered how infact was I going to do that , but then the joy OF mindfulness returned to me. Each day I would sit up as tall as I  could and I would take three or four , maybe more deep breaths in and out, bigger each time and I would keep sitting up taller as I  breathed out. I was not just waking up the muscles in my body but I was strengthening my mind too, that I actually could do whatever I wanted to do!
So the path to rehab changed , but oh the struggle was and is still so real. Because, as “I am fine walking if it’s level and light, life’s not like that is it? There are those bumps and curves when you least expect them.


This phrase sticks in my mind and really encapsulates the daily struggles  when you are living with neurological disabilities. It all wanders a smooth and straight path but when getting out and about to neuroPhysio becomes difficult  whether its. because of the weather or perhaps the car that would normally take you is not available, or perhaps some other reason, i again start doubting myself and oh it’s easy to just sit !


But I keep myself together and I keep my head up, doing what I can, breathing in, breathing out, till I can again work together with my therapist one on one to re-gain confidence in standing , walking and living life.  It is about remembering that “one bad day, doesn’t make a bad life”. Keeping my confidence is so important on this journey, as I rebuild my body and being able to get to rehab sessions is that external encouragement, by being with the (therapist) which makes the  difference and allows me to continue with excellent progress in body and mind.

Who else feels like this? Let me know, either here or across on one of my social media channels;

http://www.facebook.com/IAmFNDAware

http://www.twitter.com/FND_Goddess

www. Instagram.com/fnd_goddess

“Wandering Towards Wellness, Globally “

Leave a Reply

