What is NeuroPhysio….Treatment Is Available. 

Since I’ve been posting about beginning my rehab sessions-I’ve lost count at how many people have messaged me to ask what is this “NeuroPhysio” that you are doing!

Let me explain;

Neurological physiotherapy is a treatment for people who have neurological impairments. It is an exciting area of rehabilitation that merges key discoveries in neuroscience, exercise and movement science. People, just like me with neurological or neuromuscular disorders can present with a number of difficulties with movement issues or challenges that can influence balance, walking, arm & hand function, posture and pain. This form of treatment can help people with dizziness and balance disorders, and those people at risk of falls and I am one of this group of people that this form of rehabilitation is helping. 


This treatment brings in the evolution of Dr. Norman Doidge who introduced neuroplasticity to the world, through his book ‘The Brain That Changes Itself’ a number of years ago. His idea was that our brains are not as rigidly hardwired as once believed, and with therapy, they can change by being rewired. I read this book sceptically positive about this doctors ideas but indeed what i am finding in my own rehab is that the brain can heal, it can change and it can rewire and be triggered to find new circuits and paths through mental and physical activity. Indeed our brains can “…form, unform, and reform in new ways”. 


Beginning NeuroPhysio sessions, I’ve stepped into rehabilitation with positivity  that it will assist me to regain control over areas of my body that have become blocked from functioning normal in my daily life. What I’ve found is that the exercises and techniques that I am having to learn or perhaps relearn are at times exceptionally frustrating. They are exercises, set on teaching the particular parts of the body which have become blocked in their normal functioning behaviours. My particular areas are teaching the right side of my body to again function. The areas worked on are my right leg and foot, which presently due to paralysis are frozen and walking is strained, thus I am needing to use a four wheeler walker to assist with balance and gait structure. My right arm and hand is also worked on, helping to trigger messages to my muscles so that I can again do such things as brush my hair, butter bread, etc. But, I have this inbuilt strength that tells me after being ill for so long that I can’t give up! I’ve managed to come a long way in such a short time and although, the day after each session and if I’ve had a exceptionally full rehab session it may be two days where all my body can do is rest, all it can do is sleep and recover. But, I won’t stop because I know that I can trigger my brain to rework its processes of messaging my body. I will recover,perhaps not in the way that I would like , but these therapies will allow me to put in place new pathways to live the life I love.

                         
I hope, I’ve deciphered the mysteries of ‘NeuroPhysio’ .

If you have found my blog helpful, please like and share and I would also love to connect with you on my social media channels;

http://www.facebook.com/IAmFNDAware

http://www.twitter.com/FND_Goddess

http://www.instagram.com/fnd_goddess
“Wandering Towards Wellness, Globally”

Leave a Reply

